- CLARIFICATION OF POOL RULES

1 TOUCHING BALL. EP.A. rule 8a.

The player must fire away from a touching ball. It doss not matter if the ball he
is touching is his own, his opponenis or the black. i he moves the object ball with the cue

ball at all this is a foul. )
if the ball he is touching is his opponents or ihe black, he must make contact

with a ball of his own. If he is touching his own ball it is classed as if he has alveady
played that ball (i.e. made contact with it with the cue ball) and when he plays his shot he
does not have to make contact with any other ball. If he does, this will not be a foul, even
if he hits his opponents ball or the black.

2. FOUL BREAK. EP.A. rule 4a.

This cccurs when a player breaks and two balls do not make contact with
any of the cushions {unless an object ball is potted which means no foul has been
commiited and play carries on as normal). The game is re-racked and the opposing player
breaks with two visits. This is an open table not a free tabie.

2 oniy other time the game is re-racked at the start is if the player breaking pots the
biack on that shot. Then the game is restarted by the same player without any penalty.

3. FOUL SHOT ON BREAK.

A foul commiied on the break other than the above does not resuit in a
re-rack. The opposing player has an open table with two shots and can either play from
where the white has landed or ask the referee for white ball in hand and play from behind
the baulk line. "

4. POTTING BALLS OF BOTH COLOURS FROM THE BREAK OR AS THE FIRST LEGAL
BALLS POTTED. :

If balls of both colours are potted in the same shot, either from
the break or at any time on an open table, then the player making the pots must nominate
which colour he wishes fo be on. Even if he fails to pot a ball on his next visit he is on
the colour he chose. It does not matter how many balls of each colour were origionally
pntied it is the players choice, (however if any number of balls were poited on a foul shot
. . break these are not counted at all) the plaver has an open table with two shots and is
on the first legal ball potted.

5. OPEN TABLE WITH TWO SHOTS.

ii a player has iwo shots on an open table (after either a foul or a foul break) he cannot
pet a bali of one colour with his first shot and then change to the other colour. You have
to take the first legal ball potted as your nominated colour. See EP.A. rule 4s. Some
players are confusing an open iable with a free table. You can only have a free ball if vou
already know the colour that youre on.

6. FREE TABLE WITH TWO SHOTS.

H a player has two shots on a free table (after a foul has occured) he may take his next
shot from where the ball has landed or ask for white ball in hand. He can pot his own ball
or his opponents ball with his first shot. He may aiso hit the black onto his or his
opponents ball if he so chooses, but on his second shot he has to play his own ball

Seea rule 4L
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. GENERAL FOULS. ,
| have not put all the fouls in this list. You all know most of them, these are just l_

1e ones | think may have caused some ¢oncern. f

:P.A. 5{e) Jump shot. If the white ball jumps over any ball before it makes contact with

aur own bail this is a foul

PA. 5(g) Ball off the table. If an object ball lands off the table it is placed on ihe black

pot or as near as possibie, it is not pui down a pockst. If it is the white ball the opponent

as white ball in hand.

. ball is counted as off the table if it comes to rest other than on the bed of the iable. ie.

n the slate.

.P.A, 5(p) Push shot. A push shot occurs when the cue tip is siill in contact with the

iite whilst the white is touching the object ball. Alsc if the cue tip is still touching the

thite when the white has begun 1o move. '

The referee is the only person who may call a push shot. If you are playing and you
elieve your opponent has made a push shot then ask the referes, but his decision is finai.
 PUSH SHOT 1S A FOUL iN THIS LEAGUE.

. 1085 OF GAME ()

~ There has béen some confusion over ending the game. EP.A. rule 7(a) states thai
a hiack ball has to be potted afier all the other balis in vour own group. Some peopie
_..@ taken this fo mean that as long as the coloured ball goes down the pockef first the
iack ball can be potied in the same shol. EP.A. rule 7(c) clearly states , 'A PLAYER
DGKETING THE BLACK AND ANY OTHER BALL ON THE SAME SHOT WILL LOSE'
his will not be so when the player has two shois and only the black and the opponents
alls are on the fable. In this case on the first visit on the free fabie he may pot the black
nd his opponents ball or balls at the same time. i.e. In cne shot.

JP.A. 7{d) A player who CLEARLY makes no attempi to play his own ball will lose the
ame. Please note the word clearly, this decision is once again down to the referee. This
s why you have to ensurs that any ref you have is clear on the rules and is not going to
e intimidated into making a decision because someone thinks a foul has or has not been
ommited. A player may ask the ref if he thinks his oppenant in not making an effort but
he REFEREE'S DECISION 18 FINAL.

. CONTROL OF THE TABLE. @>

Once a player has taken control of the iable, (ihis occurs when his body, clothing or
s {ouches the iable prior to his shol) any balls that fall in are classed as having been
~.ed. The player is then liable for any penaliies or benefits that would normaily be
warded for petiing them, providing he makes a legal shot at this visit. Any fouls commited
luring this visit even if a ball {alls in.

A plaver may sometimes nake a foul because of ouiside interferance. This means
hat his shot has ACCIDENTLY been interfered with e.g. causing him o miscue and make a
oui shot. if this occurs the referee should replace any balls moved inlo their origional po-
itions before this ogcured including the white and the player re-takes his shot with no
wnalty. If the referee thinks that any interferance occured on purpose in order to gain
n advantage then he must make a ruling accordingly. Either give a foul or in exirems
ases give the game 1o the lnnocent party.

b RE-RACK.

Should the situation arise where it is IMPOSSIBLE for a legal shot to be taken
hen the game is reracked and the same player breaks. If the shot looks impossibie but the
vhite bail will go through any gap available then this is not a rerack. It does not maiter
ow difficuli the shot would be if the white goes through then a shot is deemed 15 be
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ossibie. i the referee thinks that a player s not attempiing to go for his own bail be-
;ause he knows he will foul then he must evoke EP.A. rule 7{d). See notes above.



